Skip to content

Let the count down begin

March 27, 2011

The count down to 30 at 30 beings. With just over 4 weeks until my trip to Japan I’m on pins and needles try to understand the situation on the ground and make sure that I will indeed be safe. Ironically enough Japan was actually my second pick. My first pick was South Korea but with some instability over the last few months I thought Japan was a great, safe, stable pick. I am prepared for earthquakes having grown up in Southern California, but thankfully we’ve never had to deal with Tsunamis and or Nuclear Disaster. With the news stations sensationalizing stories, ensuring maximum fear it is difficult to get the real picture of the situation there.
Having said that I do understand that possible dangers of traveling in or around the region of Fukushima, as well as the negative impact as a traveler I could have to devastated area. Thus I will not be heading north on this trip as previously planned. Instead of heading up towards Sapporo I will focus my trip Tokyo and south – and if the situation declines my contingency plan is heading over to South Korea.
I do not want my friends and family to unduly worry about me and will make sure be smart and make safe decisions over the next few weeks, but for now I’m going with the plan that I will leave for Japan just shy of my 30th birthday.
The 30 at 30 is dedicate to celebrating my 30th birthday in the 30th country I’ve visited – pretty amazing if you ask me. In case your wondering 29 was Cuba (also at 29). Considering I’d only traveled to Mexico (not a huge feat when you live 25k away) prior to leaping off North America in 2005. In 6 short years I’ve discovered my favorite hobby, some amazing places, and had incredible experiences.
But of course the countdown would not be complete with out a few random facts and stories throwback style as my international life started 6 years ago but obviously I’ve been kicking around a bit longer.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

